Hello world!

This is my first blog. But i’m hoping it will be an important one.

Anyone close to me will know that my boyfriend recently started his basic training for the army and it’s been difficult. I’m pretty sure i’m going to need my mothers expertise to remove the waterproof mascara stains (now very convinced waterproof mascara is a myth!!) from the sleeves of a quite a few jumpers and tops.

I miss him every second of every day. His smile, his laugh, the way he smells. I’d do anything to be able to run into his arms for a cuddle. You see my boyfriend is extra special. Not only does he want to protect our country he also wants to put up with me.

I’ve got Crohn’s disease, an inflammatory bowel disease. It’s embarrassing, painful and awkward to talk about. No one wants to listen to how many times i’ve had to run to the toilet during the day. No one wants to know the reason why I’ve cancelled numerous plans is because I’ve been up all night in pain, slept next to a sick bowl and now I don’t have the energy to get dressed.

I’ve been diagnosed for nearly a decade now and spent the majority of my teenage years hiding away from my disease and shying away from anything serious with a boy because, to be quite frank, I was embarrassed about my condition. Finn, my knight in shining armour, has changed that. He’s broken down walls I put up years ago and made me feel like the most special, beautiful person in his life. I can’t thank him enough for this. He loves me unconditionally. Something I thought wasn’t ever going to be possible.

I know he’s the one. He’s the boy I’m going to spend the rest of my life with. I’ve never been more certain about anything in my entire life. But for the next few years a long distance relationship is what both of us are going to be a part of. Nights spent curled up in bed with the toy penguin he bought for me on our second date are going to become the norm.

He tells me very day how brave I am. But I’m most definitely not the brave one here. He is. And I couldn’t love him more for that.

Cath xo

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

Leave a Reply

